Things I did before the Internet (or access to a copy machine, apparently)

I don’t know the precise date I wrote this list nor do I know where I found the information. My best guess: circa 1980 or earlier [before puberty], source: a book from the library?

I would not have remembered writing this, if I hadn’t found it going through old papers in storage. 

Why did I do this? I have no idea. But, I do remember the excitement of finding out what these codes meant and feeling as though I must write it all down (in green magic marker) — it was the only way I–a kid in elementary school during the late 1970s, early 1980s–could “make a copy.” 

What did I do with my list of CB 10 codes after transcribing it in green marker? I think I must have put it in a box in storage for safe keeping ; )

Sigh. Wait, no. Aha! This must be the earliest remaining example of my love of INFORMATION. I didn’t have any way to use this, except for maybe while watching CHIPS or EMERGENCY ONE?? Or, was it just called “Emergency?” I can’t remember. However, I do remember voraciously reading a series of books on each of the Presidents of the United States (up until that time). I’m not a fast reader, but I soaked those up quickly. I wish I could remember who published them. I do remember making charts of the Presidents’ vital statistics, etc. That’s when I noticed that a few of the Presidents were either born or died on July 4th (different years of course). I wondered if it was a typo. Or, if it wasn’t, why didn’t anyone ever say anything about the coincidence? Bam!

…And that’s one (just one) of the reasons why I kinda kick ass at Trivial Pursuit — the Real edition. 

Don’t get me started on the charts of facts about hundreds of colleges and universities across the entire country that I would consider going to. I began making it on the first day of my freshman year of high school. I couldn’t wait to go to college. I think that was the last time I ever completed anything way ahead of schedule and in such a focused manner. I apply early decision to my first choice, and I got in. Life was good (often difficult in various ways, but every bit of it was so gooood). I didn’t want to graduate when my time was up. Despite my best efforts to relinquish my sisyphean grip on the bliss (regardless of all the challenges) of those four years, I still resist it to this day, which actually explains a lot. Kinda like my discovery of the CB codes I transcribed many years ago. See below…

ImageImageImage

Published by

LP

I tend to watch wheels go round and around.

One thought on “Things I did before the Internet (or access to a copy machine, apparently)”

Comments are closed.