Obama, Hoffman, and art history in business

Working Smarter Cafe

khan art history I winced when I heard President Obama recently dissed art history majors. Yeah, last month while speaking to some factory workers, he quipped, “You folks can make a lot more, potentially, with skilled manufacturing or the trades than they might with an art history degree.” He immediately tried to backtrack, saying “nothing wrong with an art-history degree. I love art history. I don’t want to get a bunch e-mails from everybody.” Too late. He got some, and issued a hand written apology to one professor who had written to him. She argued that art history teaches people “how to think, read and write critically.”

In his will, Phillip Seymour Hoffman requested that his son live in Manhattan, Chicago, or San Francisco. According to the New York Times, the Hoffman reasoned, “The purpose of this request is so that my son will be exposed to the culture, art and architecture that such…

View original post 154 more words

Published by

LP

I tend to watch wheels go round and around.